USL NEWS RELEASE: Friday, December 13, 2013


USL Honors Outstanding Teams, Executives


Hall of Fame & Awards Dinner Highlights AGM


CLEARWATER, Fla. – United Soccer Leagues hosted its Hall of Fame & Awards Dinner Friday night at the Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, honoring the teams and individuals who have helped USL maintain its place for nearly 30 years as the largest organization of elite-level soccer leagues in North America.


The evening’s program opened with comments from USL President Tim Holt. Following a review of 2013 season highlights, three new members – Charleston Battery Coach Mike Anhaeuser (Coach), Charlotte Lady Eagles President Patrick Stewart (Builder), former Hampton Roads Piranhas star Mercy Akide-Udoh (Player) - were inducted into the USL Hall of Fame.


USL PRO’s Harrisburg City Islanders, the PDL’s Laredo Heat and the W-League’s London Gryphons were also honored as 10+ Clubs after having completed 10 seasons in the league. Finally, USL also honored its clubs and teams for their success on and off the field, rewarding excellence in USL PRO, the W-League and the PDL. 


2013 USL Organizational & Executive Honors



Regular Season Champions: Richmond Kickers

Fair Play: Richmond Kickers

Marketing: Pittsburgh Riverhounds

Broadcast: Orlando City

Communications: Richmond Kickers

Betsy McAdams Key Grip Award: Hunter Leemon, Richmond Kickers

Progress Award: Pittsburgh Riverhounds

Executive of the Year: Jason Kutney, Pittsburgh Riverhounds

Organization of the Year: Orlando City



Regular Season Champions: Thunder Bay Chill

Fair Play: Austin Aztex, NJ LUSO Parma, Southern California Seahorses

Marketing:  FC Tucson

Broadcast: North Sound SeaWolves FC

Communications: Reading United AC

Rookie Franchise of the Year: Real Boston Rams

Progress Award: Victoria Highlanders FC

Betsy McAdams Key Grip Award: Teresa Howe, SW Florida Adrenaline

Executive of the Year: Mark deFrias, Victoria Highlanders FC

Organization of the Year: Austin Aztex



Regular Season Champions: Virginia Beach Piranhas

Fair Play: Dayton Dutch Lions

Marketing: LA Strikers

Broadcast: Seattle Sounders Women

Communications: Washington Spirit Reserves

Rookie Franchise of the Year: Bay Area Breeze

Progress Award: Carolina Elite Cobras

Betsy McAdams Key Grip Award: Remy DuCote, Washington Spirit Reserves

Executive of the Year: Jon Billings, Seattle Sounders Women

Organization of the Year: Dayton Dutch Lions


United Soccer Leagues

USL has become the largest organization of elite-level soccer leagues in North America by building on the vision, commitment, and passion of players, fans and investors. Now in its third decade of operation, USL continues to be a driving force in the growth of soccer in the United States, Canada and Caribbean. USL provides a clearly defined path for the progression of male and female soccer players beginning at the youth level (Super Y-League/NextGen), continuing through the amateur level (PDL/W-League/Super-20/W-20) and up to the professional level, both outdoor and indoor (USL PRO/MISL). A platform for countless players to reach for their dreams each year, USL is devoted to developing the sport at the grassroots level in every community across the region.