skip navigation

Forbes, Greenspan named All-League First Team; Brett, Vancaeyezeele named All-League Second Team

By Riverhounds Staff, 11/12/19, 1:30PM EST


PITTSBURGH (November 12, 2019) – Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC midfielder Kenardo Forbes and defender Joe Greenspan have been named Championship All-League First Team whereas forward Neco Brett and midfielder Thomas Vancaeyezeele have been named Championship All-League Second Team.

This is the first time since 2013 (Matthew Dallman and José Angulo) the Hounds have had two players named All-League First Team. In addition, this is the first time since 2010 (Hunter Gilstrap, Shintaro Harada, Chad Severs and Jeremy Deighton) Pittsburgh has had four total players awarded All-League honors.

In the midfield, Forbes catalyzed the club on the pitch. The team captain led the team with a career-high nine assists. He also added four goals en route to setting another career high with 17 points. The Kingston, Jamaica native also led all USL Championship outfield players with 291 recoveries. In addition to his All-League First Team award this season, he previously was named All-League Second Team on two different occasions (2018 and 2016).

This is the second straight season Greenspan has been awarded All-League First Team honors. The center back led the team with 151 clearances, which ranked fourth in the league, and helped the team to a league-high 17 clean sheets. On the offensive end, the Westfield, New Jersey native recorded four goals and two assists – both career highs.

Brett and Vancaeyezeele each earned All-League honors for the first time in their respective careers. Brett, a native of Kingston, Jamaica, led Pittsburgh with 13 goals, 31 points and 36 shots on target. On the other hand, Vancaeyezeele scored two goals while ranking seventh in the league with 62 interceptions. The Caen, France native showed tremendous versatility throughout the year, playing at center back, holding midfield, attacking midfield and outside back.

For more information on 2019 USL Championship All-League teams, visit

Previous All-League First Team honorees:

2018 – Joe Greenspan
2015 – Rob Vincent
2013 – José Angulo
2013 – Matthew Dallman
2010 – Hunter Gilstrap
2010 – Shintaro Harada
2008 – Thabiso Khumalo
2004 – Said Ali
2004 – Nathan Salsi
2004 – Tiest Sondaal
2003 – Ricardo Villar
2003 – Thiago Martins
1999 – Tenywa Bonseu

Previous All-League Second Team honorees:

2018 – Kenardo Forbes
2017 – Corey Hertzog
2016 – Corey Hertzog
2015 – Kevin Kerr
2013 – Andrew Marshall
2012 – Matt Kassel
2011 – Jason Yeisley
2010 – Chad Severs
2010 – Jeremy Deighton
2009 – Justin Evans
2008 – Justin Evans
2006 – David Flavius
2006 – Richard Bragg
2005 – Nathan Salsi
2004 – Chris Robinson
2004 – David Flavius