skip navigation

Hounds set to compete in 18-team USL Championship Eastern Conference

By Riverhounds Staff, 12/13/18, 3:30PM EST


PITTSBURGH (December 13, 2018) – The USL Championship has revealed conference alignment ahead of the 2019 season. Earlier today, it was announced Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC will compete in the league’s 18-team Eastern Conference.

The Hounds will face competition from teams new to USL Championship, as four of the league’s expansion arrivals, Birmingham Legion FC, Hartford Athletic, Loudoun United FC and Memphis 901 FC, will join the Eastern Conference. In addition, Saint Louis FC and the Swope Park Rangers will come to the Eastern Conference after competing in the league’s Western Conference this past season.

Leaving the league’s Eastern Conference are FC Cincinnati (MLS), Penn FC (USL League One, starting 2020), Richmond Kickers (USL League One) and Toronto FC II (USL League One).

Home openers and the full 2019 regular season schedule will be released at a future date.

For full details on the 2019 USL Championship alignment, visit its website